department events

Investigations: Vulnerable Adult

Report suspected maltreatment and/or neglect IMMEDIATELY!  
Vulnerable Adults Reports should be made to the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC) at 844-880-1574 staffed 24 hours/day.   In case of immediate emergency situation, call 911

Mandated Reporters:  The Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC), is the common entry point under Minnesota Statues 626.557. MAARC operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week for the public and mandated reporters. MAARC also provides an opportunity for mandated reporters to meet their reporting duty by making a web report at Mandated reporters may refer to the MAARC Report Guide for information on using the web-based reporting system. Mandated reporters may also make phone reports by calling the statewide toll-free number MAARC at 844-880-1574. Phone and web reports are promptly submitted by MAARC to the agencies responsible for investigation and protective services.   Mandated reporters are professionals or professional’s delegate identified by law (MS 626.5572 Subd. 16) who MUST make a report if they suspect a vulnerable adult has been abused, neglected or financial exploited.   Emergency:  Reporters calling to report an emergency, including a medical emergency or crime in progress, must call 911 and then return to the website or call MAARC at 844-880-1574 to make the mandated report of suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult.  Out of State Maltreatment:  Mandated reporters reporting an allegation of suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult that did not occur in Minnesota must make the report to the state in which the allegation occurred. The national Adult Protective Services Association has information for reporting in all states.

Who is a Vulnerable Adult, What is Maltreatment?  
A vulnerable adult can be any person over age 18 who:

  • Has a physical, mental or emotional disability that makes it difficult for the person to care for themselves or to protect themselves from maltreatment
  • Is in a hospital, nursing home, transitional care unit, assisted living, housing with services, board and care, foster care or other licensed care
  • Receives services such as home care, day services, personal care attendant/PCA, employment training, treatment for mental illness, etc.

There are three basic kinds of maltreatment:

  • Abuse – physical, emotional or sexual
  • Neglect – The vulnerable person does not have necessary food, shelter, clothing, health care or supervision due to neglect by a caregiver, or because the vulnerable adult cannot meet their own needs.
  • Financial exploitation – the vulnerable adult’s money, assets or property are not used for their benefit or are stolen or kept from them.
Adult Protective Services Unit State of Minnesota
State of MN Courts Self Help Center 
Where can I find more information about Vulnerable Adults?